Image

How to be more productive

13402528431258354014

Spending more time thinking about how to do things, instead of doing them? You are not alone. Let us talk about productivity, and why you should try not to be perfect.

It seems like everyone in this society is trying to be perfect and do everything the right way without any mistakes. Just look at the headlines of pickup marketing sites:

“The perfect way to get her number”
“The perfect way to text her”
“The perfect way to ask her out”
“The perfect way to get the kiss”

STOP TRYING TO BE PERFECT! YOU NEVER WILL! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME THINKING AND ANALYZING, WHEN 95% OF THE TIME, YOU WILL GET MUCH MORE OUT OF DOING THINGS INSTEAD!

Trying to be perfect is a huge problem to many areas of life.

Getting laid
Most guys (especially guys that have filled their head with advanced weirdo pickup-theories) keep thinking about how to act the perfect way, say the perfect lines, touch her the perfect time and go for the kiss when the moment is right.

Business
Lots of people with good ideas (myself included) tend to think they have to plan their business the perfect way to get success.

Workout
People spend so much time planning and reading and thinking about the perfect way to work out and eat right and get the results they want.
Generally, I think people spend more time thinking about how to be perfect, instead of doing and learning by doing.

This is a problem because you would not be anything if you only think. You will only achieve something if you do something. What im trying to say is:

STOP THINKING SO MUCH

STOP WORRYING AND TRYING TO DO EVERYTHING THE RIGHT WAY

WORRY ABOUT ONE THING: GETTING THINGS DONE

Be productive

I just see so many people talking and thinking about losing weight or quitting smoking or whatever they want to do, and spending hours and hours on end trying to find the perfect program, instead of just getting to the gyn or throwing the cigarettes away.

I see so many guys that like a girl, but instead of asking her out, they spend hours thinking about how to do it, and before they know it, it is too late and another guy has taken her.

Try not to be perfect
I have always been a perfectionist. I tend to want to do everything the perfect way. This was a huge problem, especially when I was younger, since it was hard for me to get anything done.

When I went to school. I often stayed up the whole night perfecting the last details of my assignments, instead of just getting them done and getting some sleep.

Now it is less of a problem, since I have kind of forced myself not to be perfect and just getting things done.

I think a lot of this has to do with the way our society appears. But remember – what you see in the media and on social medie like facebook or Twitter is not reality – you are most likely overestimating everyone else – and often people on social media try to create a perfect image of themselves, which differs from their actual reality.

Worrying about the details is stupid. It is taken action that counts. The last details are not as important as you think. For instance, the first many articles I wrote for this site, I spent like 5 or 8 hours to write (and some of them I still do).

But I actually found a really cool way to get them done, be productive and get a lot of my content up. Earlier today, when I got off from work, I wanted to write an article about dieting.

What I did 
I took a walk for like 10 minutes, brainstorming and writing 5-10 keywords/headlines that I wanted the article to be built up about.

Then, instead of sitting down and trying to write the article word for word, I just took my camera, started recording, and started talking about the topic for 8-10 minutes. I talked to myself about the topic, with help from the keywords I wrote before.

After that, I sat down, and played the video while I transcribed/wrote everything down I said in the video. (I had to pause the video a few times because I talk faster than I can write).

Then I had an article, three pages written in like an hour!!
Usually I would spend six hours writing that much, so it is absolutely amazing how much faster I got this done.

Same thing applies to working out. Stop thinking, start doing.
To getting laid. Stop thinking, start doing.
To texting. Stop thinking, start doing.
To explore an idea. Stop thinking start doing.
To a sales call. Stop thinking start doing.

A habit of doing
You do not have to act the perfect way to get results in life. Usually, if you just start acting you will achieve more than the most. This has been a huge revelation for me, and it is a very important habit to incorporate in your lifestyle.

I have been lucky to learn this from my jobs and from other persons.. If I had been all alone in this world, I would still sit in some dark basement thinking and analyzing the best way to improve my life. Instead of doing it.

I am glad that other people have taught me how to get things done, and I hope this article will inspire you to get things done yourself.

Next time you catch yourself spending too much time thinking about something, or trying to do it perfectly, tell yourself:
I am better off doing it right now in a 90% quality, than never getting it done or spending three times as much time on it, because I want to make it perfect.

It would not be perfect anyway, Just do it.

 

Leave a Reply

